skip to content

In order to become a Chartered Global Management Accountant (ACMA, CGMA) you need a minimum of 36 months' verified work-based practical experience across four areas: Technical skills; Business skills; People skills and Leadership skills.

Each competency category within these areas has specified proficency levels (foundation, intermediate, advanced and expert) and example competencies.

  • At least four categories must be selected between Technical and Business skills (with at least one from each) covering a minimum of 36 months  - at least 18 months must be at the intermediate, advanced and/or expert levels
  • A minimum of one category each from People and Leadership skills over 36 months - these should be in the context of technical and business skills and can be at any proficency level.
Technical Skills Business Skills People Skills Leadership Skills
Financial accounting and reporting Strategy Influence Team building
Cost accounting and management Market and regulatory envirnoment Negotation and decision making Coaching and mentoring
Business planning Process management Communication Driving performance
Management reporting and analysis Business relations Collaboration and partnering Motivating and inspiring
Corporate finance and treasury management Project management   Change management
Risk management and internal control Macroeconomic analysis    
Accounting information systems      
Tax strategy, planning and compliance      

See the CIMA website for more information.

Raven Login

Some items on this website are restricted. University members are encouraged to log in using Raven to make the best use of the site:
Login with Raven